Feedback / Suggestions

Organization Chart

Organization chart of Co-operation Department


State, Regional, District and Sub-divisional level:

        The powers of the Registrar have been delegated to the Additional Registrars and Joint Registrars in the Head Office, 4 Regional Joint Registrars of Co-operative Societies, 33 District Registrars of Co-operative Societies and 52 Assistant Registrars of Co-operative Societies based on the registered jurisdiction of the cooperatives.  These officers exercise statutory and administrative control over the co-operatives in accordance with the powers delegated to them and accordingly register, amalgamate, liquidate co-operatives, amend their byelaws, inspect the co-operatives, function as quasi judicial authorities and perform all other statutory duties.

        The District Deputy Registrars  also function under the control of the Zilla Panchayats in so far as the implementation of the District sector  Plan Schemes are concerned.  The sub-divisional Assistant Registrar of Co-operative Societies are responsible for the implementation of the State Plan Schemes and the District Sectors Plan Schemes.  For implementation of plan schemes of the District Sector,  they work under the supervision of the Taluk Panchayats.  There are 120 Co-operative Development Officers and 94 Co-operative Inspectors to assist the sub-divisonal Assistant Registrars.

Head Office

        The Head Office located in Bangalore, has been structured on functional and sectoral lines with reference to the types of co-operative societies. The department is headed by the Registrar of Co-operative Societies. He is the Chief Administrator of the department. He is assisted by four Additional Registrar of Co-operative Societies, four Joint Registrar of Co-operative Societies, three Deputy Registrar of Co-operative Societies, one statistician of the cades of Assistant Director and Assistant Registrar of Co-operative Societies and supporting staff.

Head Office consists of the following wings:-

  1. Credit.
  2. Consumers and Marketing.
  3. Housing and Miscellaneous.
  4. Industrial  And Dairy Co-operatives.
  5. Administration and Development.
  6. Urban Banks.
  7. Enquiry and Inspections.
  8. Integrated Co-operative Development Project.

The first four wings are headed by Additional Registrar of Co-operative Societies and the other wings by Joint Registrar of Co-operative Societies.

        All these wings assist Registrar of Co-operative Societies in managing the department with reference to various provisions of KCS Act and rules and the implementation of various departmental programs sponsored by the government. The Registrar of Co-operative Societies has not only to administer the Co-operative societies Act and Rules but also to implement the Karnataka money lenders Act and Rules, the Karnataka Pawn Brokers Act and rules and Chit fund Act and rules.

Organizational Structure of the Registrar of Cooperative Societies, in Karnataka,

Registrar Cooperative Society Registrar Of Cooperative Societies addl RCS(Credit) Addle RCS(Cons. & Mkt) Addle RCS(Housing & Others) Addle RCS(Ind Co-op & Dairy) JRCS (ADM & DVPT) JRCS (I.C.D.P) JRCS (U.B.Cell) JRCS (Legal Cell) ARCS (Credit) ARCS(LDB)) ARCS(Con & Mkt) Asst.Engineer (PWD) ARCS(Housing & Others) ARCS(Dispute) ARCS(Lqd. & Cash) ARCS(Indl. Coop) ARCS (Dairy) GA TO RCS, DRCS(Adm &EST) Assistant Director(Statistics) ARCS(Adm & Est) ARCS(Loans & Audit) Asst.Director (Sts) ARCS(Legal Cell) ARCS(Enquiry & Inspection) ARCS(Money Lending Squad-I) ARCS(Money Lending Squad-II) ARCS (U.B.Cell) ARCS (Societies)


Regional Office
        There are four Regional Offices corresponding to the revenue divisions of Bangalore, Mysore, Belgaum and Gulbarga. The Regional Offices are located in Bangalore, Mysore, Belgaum and Raichur respectively. Each Regional Office is headed by a Joint Registrar of Co-operative Societies directly reporting to Registrar of Co-operative Societies. The Joint Registrar of Co-operative Societies in charge of Regional Office exercise powers as per the powers delegated to them.

District Office

        Each district office is headed by a Deputy Registrar of Co-operative Societies reporting to the concerned Regional Joint Registrar of Co-operative Societies. Bangalore urban district has been bifurcated into three Deputy Registrar of Co-operative Societies for the sake of administrative reasons . The Deputy Registrar of Co-operative Societies in charge of district office is Register under the Co-operative societies Act, Money lenders Act, Chit Act, and the Pawn Brokers Act, Karnataka Societies Registration Act .

Sub-Divisional Office

        In the state, there are 52 sub divisional offices headed by Assistant Registrar of Co-operative Societies. They directly report to the concerned Deputy Registrar of Co-operative Societies and perform functions delegated to them by the Registrar of Co-operative Societies.

Taluk level Office

        Considering the increasing work load and diversified responsibilities of the department, the need for establishing separate offices at the taluk level was felt and an office was set up at each taluk. Every taluk office is headed by a Co-operative Development officer.

Organization chart of Co-operation Department at Field Level




Last Updated: 16-08-2021 05:40 PM Updated By: Ashwini-ARCS

Disclaimer :

Please note that this page also provides links to the websites / web pages of Govt. Ministries/Departments/Organisations.The content of these websites are owned by the respective organisations and they may be contacted for any further information or suggestion

Website Policies

  • Copyright Policy
  • Hyperlinking Policy
  • Security Policy
  • Terms & Conditions
  • Privacy Policy
  • Help
  • Screen Reader Access
  • Guidelines


  • Last Updated​ :
  • Visitors Counter :
  • Version :
Designed, Developed and Hosted by: Center for e-Governance - Web Portal, Government of Karnataka © 2024, All Rights Reserved.

Best viewed in Chrome v-87.0.4280.141, Microsoft Edge v-87.0.664.75, Firefox -v-83.0 Browsers. Resolution : 1280x800 to 1920x1080